School Governance Committee

School Governance Committee (SGC) members are interested members of the community, including parents of children at the school.

The current membership reflects a wide range of expertise and interest, and includes representation from parents; teaching and non-teaching staff; Unit/stations; HQ MOD Schools and St John’s School Senior Leadership Team.

We work with the Head Teacher and school staff to assist in making key decisions vital to the successful running of the school, contribute to decisions directly affecting the education and wellbeing of pupils, assist in improving standards throughout the school and monitor the school budget.

The SGC meets once a term as a whole committee to review and discuss school business, and represent the views of parents.

Main Roles

Provide a strategic overview
focusing on the key issues of raising standards of achievement, establishing high expectations and promoting effective teaching and learning
Act as a Critical Friend
providing the Head Teacher and Staff with support and advice using members’ knowledge and experience
Ensure Accountability
questioning and openly discussing with the Head Teacher the school’s performance and other issues, whilst respecting both the professional roles of the Head Teacher and school staff and their responsibilities for the management of the school

We do not act as the first line for complaints about any aspect of the school and its day to day work. There is a clear procedure to follow and the school should be contacted directly either via the Form Tutor, Head of Year or the Head Teacher.

Please note that SGCs in MOD schools vary in their activities compared to Governing bodies in the UK, where the Governors have greater executive responsibility in the management of schools including employment of staff.

Contact with a member of the SGC can be made at any time. We aim to be available at Academic Review days and other such school events to explain our role and discuss any issues Parents may wish to raise with us.

SGC information leaflet
SGC Faculty Links

 

SGC Agendas

Agenda for SGC Meeting 14 November 18

SGC Induction & Training Programme for Wed 26 Sep 18

Agenda for SGC Meeting 6 September 18

SGC Meeting Dates AY 18-19

SGC Agendas for Previous Years

 

Lt Col Max Davison Lt Col Max Davison Chairperson / Station Commander Episkopi & Troodos  robert.davison855@mod.gov.uk / nectaria.antoniou619@mod.gov.uk
alex kerr Alex Kerr Acting Principal principal@stjohnsschoolcyprus.com
Jan Dowlen-Gilliland Vice Chairperson / General Manager Cyprus, SSAFA jan@ssafa.org.uk / lisa.phillips@ssafa.org.uk
penny demetriou Penny Demetriou Secretary to the SGC pdemetriou@stjohnsschoolcyprus.com
Capt Nigel Garcia Regiment/Parent Rep Episkopi UWO 2 Mercian Nigel.Garcia907@mod.gov.uk
Robin Francis Staff Rep. rfrancis@stjohnsschoolcyprus.com
Lynne Everett Youth & Community Rep lynne.everett637@mod.gov.uk
Robert Cowin Community Rep & Retired Teacher chrisrob@cytanet.com.cy
Carolyn Aggar AFF Rep rmcyprus@aff.org.uk
Jennifer Davis SEN Rep jenniferryan78@hotmail.com
Iain Ross Parent Rep, Episkopi iross@stjohnsschoolcyprus.com
Sarah Hughes Parent Rep, Episkopi sarahrothery1@hotmail.co.uk
Phil Dakin Parent Rep, Episkopi phildakin@hotmail.com
Nick Gaulder Parent Rep, Episkopi weeman1449@hotmail.com
Emma Ford Parent Rep, Akrotiri emma_ford69@btinternet.com
Claire Cotter Parent Rep, Akrotiri claire.cotter@modschools.org
Adam Deeves Parent Rep, Akrotiri adam.deeves467@mod.gov.uk
Rachael Clarke Parent Rep, Akrotiri rachaelclarke33@hotmail.com
Timothy Andrews Parent Rep, Akrotiri t-w-a@hotmail.co.uk